Uzbekistan is Turkic Council's Fifth Member.

The decision to accept Uzbekistan to the group was made on October 15 during a two-day summit of member states in Azerbaijan's capital, Baku.

The Turkic Council was established in October 2009 with Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Turkey as the group's founding members. Uzbekistan applied for membership in the group in September.

At the Turkic Council's summit in Kyrgyzstan in September 2018, Hungary joined the group as an observer.